In a Season of Waiting

Have you ever wanted to know something so bad it sort of hurts your insides?

For me, waiting is not fun and it’s most definitely not easy. I am not the most patient person on the block, despite my efforts to be. I like to know things and I like to know them fast. I’m that girl who gives her husband his birthday present two weeks early because I just can’t contain the excitement. Nonetheless, the Lord has me in a season of waiting for the time being and honestly, it’s proving to beΒ quite challenging.

I feel the Lord refining my heart to understand what it really means to wait on him, teaching me to fully trust his timing and his plan. The Lord brought Psalm 143:8 to me this morning. I love how when you need a word from the Lord, he provides it for you. It says, “Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.”

I guess it’s okay to not know everything right away. I mean, I am God’s daughter and I have no reason not to trust him. He loves me unconditionally and his plan for my life is perfectly written out according to him. As I grow older I’m learning that this perfectly written out plan that God has for me doesn’t always unfold in front of me at the drop of a hat. It’s not that simple, and that’s okay.

God is changing the game now for this only child girl who is used to knowing things pretty quickly. Waiting, waiting, waiting seems to be the hand I’m holding. So, for now, I will wait patiently for the Lord’s answer. I will enjoy what the Lord has given me and I will be thankful for his many blessings. I will be quick to prayer and slow to grumble. I will turn to the Lord for strength when I find myself in overwhelming anticipation. I will smile knowing that God is sovereign. But, most of all, I will remember that the Lord loves his daughter and that his plan is ultimately better than anything I can dream.

img_0191img_0237img_0303img_0249img_0271img_0262

Leave a Reply

