When the Answer is “Not Yet”

lesterfamily-16

God knows me. He knows my heart. He knows my desires. This brings peace to my soul. Also, I know God. I know God is good. I know God is sovereign. I know everything God does in my life, as his child, is for my good. God is my hope. It is knowing things such as these about God that help me remain content in God’s timing. God does not say “No” or “Not yet” in spite of me. He does not say that to rob me of joy. He says that because his plan is perfect and my plan is flawed. Even when I don’t understand the “No”‘s and “Not yet”‘s, I have peace in knowing God loves me and only he knows what is truly best.

As I said earlier, God knows my desires and he knows my heart. However, what if my dreams don’t align with his plan? Sitting here, mulling this over in my head I must wonder if my desires are not where they need to be? Do my dreams need to shift in order to align with his plan? Do my timeline and schedule not match God’s? If this is the case, I do not need to stand in the way of God shifting and changing my desires and dreams. I know from experience that the Lord will align my dreams and desires according to his will if I will just allow him. Painfully, because I am a planner, I have to step down from my high horse. I have to back away from my plan. I will not allow my priorities and dreams to be placed above God’s. I will allow God’s will to be done in my life even if I don’t understand the timing of it all.

It is times such as these when Satan uses his lies to try and throw me off and tell me that God doesn’t remember me and my desires. He tells me that God doesn’t want me to be happy and joyful. There is something satisfying about knowing that those are lies. Satan comes to steal, kill and destroy. I will not let him rob me of the joy-filled life I can live knowing that God’s plan is better than my own.

I will remember that God loves me. I will remember that he knows me. I will remember that his plan surpasses my own. I will trust God. I will set aside my need to plan and give God control of my life. I will rejoice in the knowledge that God is a good, good Father and he loves me dearly. Do you need to do the same? Do you need to let go of your plans so the Father can work in your life? Do you need to set aside your fears and remember that everything God does in the lives of his children is for their good?

I can confidently sit here and say when things don’t go as I hope or plan, it is well with my soul because of Jesus.

lesterfamily-19lesterfamily-66

Leave a Reply

