Overcoming the Snooze Button

I would wake up at 5 AM, refreshed and rejuvenated. Coffee would be brewing and the world would be silent, the air crisp, and the sun just beginning to wake. My husband and I would make our bed, discussing our sleep and dreams, excited for the day to come. Once the coffee had been poured and the morning exchanges had been made, we would go our separate ways, expectant to hear from the Lord. Marveling at my Savior’s goodness and mercy, I would immerse myself into the Holy Word of God. I would get on my knees and pray for the day, for my family, for the nation. I would bring my burdens to him, giving him all my worries and anxieties. I would pray for the boldness and courage to imitate him in a world that is corrupt and wicked. After this precious time with God, I would spend time reflecting on my time with the Lord, my hopes, my dreams, and anything else that popped into my mind. As I began to change for our upcoming run, I would hear my husband stir in the other room, emerging from his personal time with the Lord. We would head out the door, Brooks on our feet, Apple Watches on our wrists, and headphones in our ears ready to tackle the morning run.

Please spare me the “honey, it will never be that way” comment. I know it probably will never come to reality. Or, at least, not stay that way for long. I’m well aware of the fact that life gets busy and you simply cannot keep up with everything perfectly. I understand that there are days when the snooze button is more attractive than the reality of getting out of bed. I get it. It is a constant battle in my mind every morning as my alarm goes off. However, it is my decision what I do next. Am I going to let sleep encompass me and suck me back in? Or, will I swing out of bed, ready to start my day?

I love waking up to the morning sun not yet risen, the quiet stillness of the day. I fail to do this often. When snoozing the alarm and sleep is pushed aside, I am able to sit still in the Word and allow the Holy Spirit to teach me and show me all that God sees fit. It is pure bliss. My most energetic days come from the mornings I wake early to spend with my Savior.

“Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!”
Psalm 34:8
Leave a Reply

