ALL (n): one’s whole interest, energy, or property

“Trust in the Lord with ALL your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In ALL your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.”
Proverbs 3:5-6

I am not called to trust God with some of my heart and acknowledge God in some of my ways. No! The holy, sacred Word says trust in the Lord with ALL of my heart, acknowledge him in ALL of my ways. I know this is the best thing to do. It is in my best interest (as all that God tells me) to trust in him with ALL of my heart and acknowledge him in ALL of my ways. So, the million dollar question is…WHY DON’T I DO THIS? Why do I only trust God with certain things in my life? Why do I only acknowledge him in some of my ways? Some…I don’t like that word. To me, it speaks incompleteness. It speaks half-hearted effort. It speaks underlying trust issues. But, think about it. Why do people normally have trust issues? They’ve been wronged before, lied to, cheated on, taken advantage of. Okay, that makes sense. BUT, has God ever wronged me? Has God ever lied to me, cheated on me, or taken advantage of me? The answer is no. He has never done any of those things to me. So, back to that million dollar question…Why do I act as if he has? Sin. Flesh. That’s the answer. I am living in sin, my flesh gets in the way.

I will trust the Lord with ALL of my heart and acknowledge the Lord in ALL of my ways.

Lord, remove the effects of the flesh on me. Allow me to see and understand what it means to fully trust you with ALL of my heart and to acknowledge you in ALL of my ways. Don’t let a day go by where I don’t acknowledge your goodness in my life. Teach me what it looks like to trust you fully. Mold me into a daughter whose relationship with you is built on trust. Forgive me for the times I do not trust you and I do not acknowledge you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

