UNASHAMED (adj): not ashamed; not restrained by embarrassment or consciousness of moral guilt

Romans 1:16

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.”

“Royal Caribbean Comfort” is what I now like to call it. All things Royal Caribbean Cruise Line is one thing I am not ashamed to talk about. It is something I talk about more confidently and readily than the gospel to people. It is familiar. It is experienced. My husband once asked me this question: “Casey, what if you talked to people about Jesus as much as you do about Royal Caribbean?” Ouch. That hurt. That stung. But, hey, that was the reality for me. What stops you from getting more familiar with the gospel? What stops you from gaining experience sharing God’s wonderful salvation with people? Do you stop yourself? Do you worry that you will ramble and fumble over your words? Do you get scared that someone will ask you questions you can’t answer? Reality check: Your only job is to remain faithful to the Lord and share his glory and salvation with everyone. You are to plant the seed. The Holy Spirit does the rest. But, how can you share about it when you are living as if you are ashamed of it? You need some encouragement, somewhere to look and gain knowledge of what living a life unashamed of the gospel looks like. When I think of someone who was not ashamed of the gospel, besides Jesus, Paul immediately comes to mind. Paul definitely was not ashamed of the gospel. You see evidence of this in his perseverance and faithfulness to share the true gospel everywhere he went after he encountered Jesus on the road to Damascus. He told anyone who would listen, and sometimes those who wouldn’t listen, that the gospel of Jesus is for everyone. For the Jew and the Greek. So, what does it look like to live a life not ashamed of the gospel? It looks like boldly proclaiming your faith in a world enslaved to sin and the devil. It looks like having those hard-to-you conversations with your family, friends, and neighbors about who Jesus is and what he accomplished here on earth. What stops you from sharing your faith? What is your “Royal Caribbean Comfort”?

I will live my life unashamed of the gospel.

Lord, give me the boldness I need to share who you are to those I encounter today. Give me words to say through the Holy Spirit. I want others to see you in me. Teach me how to practically live unashamed of the gospel. I want to serve you, grow in you, and share with others your goodness and love. Thank you for loving me even when I live like I am ashamed of you. Give me a desire to stand up for you in all that I do today, and every day. Use me to plant seeds. Please let me recognize the leading of the Holy Spirit to share about your wonderful salvation. Amen.

Leave a Reply

